Thursday, August 6, 2009

Health Science Center’s nuclear medicine program earns accreditation

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio says its program that trains resident physicians in nuclear medicine has accredited through 2014 by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

Health Science Center officials say the program received an exemplary rating from the council, which oversees the accreditation of post-medical doctor training programs in the United States.

The Nuclear Medicine Residency Program is part of the Health Science Center’s Department of Radiology at its School of Medicine. Its training curriculum is integrated with the San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium, which trains military physicians in nuclear medicine.

Nuclear medicine refers to imaging and procedures, such as positron emission tomography (PET) and radiotherapy, that use radioactive material to diagnose and treat a host of diseases, including cancer.

The local residency program trains a maximum of four nuclear medicine residents. This rigorous three-year program is one of 57 ACGME-accredited residency programs that will train more than 700 residents nationwide this academic year.

Darlene Metter, professor and vice chair of clinical education in the Department of Radiology, directs the Nuclear Medicine Residency Program. Metter has been instrumental in the program’s design and implementation at participating sites including Brooke Army Medical Center, Wilford Hall Medical Center, University Health System and the Texas Cancer Clinic.

The Health Science Center is the leading research institution for San Antonio and South Texas. It is one of the major health sciences universities in the world.

No comments:

Post a Comment